Ranking
Best Philosophy Colleges in New York 2026
College of Staten Island CUNY leads this ROI ranking with an A+ value grade and a 23.97 school-wide ROI proxy. EduGradify ranks 25 eligible colleges here by earnings against net price.
58 eligible New York colleges reporting awards in Philosophy, ranked by EduGradify's school-wide value signal.
- Schools ranked
- 25
- Cheapest net price
- $5,579
- Top earnings 10y
- $104,043
- Public / Private
- 14 / 11
College of Staten Island CUNY
A+- ROI proxy
- 23.97
- Net price
- $5,579
- Earnings 10y
- $53,501
- Acceptance
- 92.3%
CUNY LaGuardia Community College
A+- ROI proxy
- 17.02
- Net price
- $6,120
- Earnings 10y
- $41,653
- Acceptance
- Open / not reported
Columbia University in the City of New York
A- ROI proxy
- 11.87
- Net price
- $21,590
- Earnings 10y
- $102,491
- Acceptance
- 4%
SUNY Buffalo State University
A- ROI proxy
- 11.53
- Net price
- $11,346
- Earnings 10y
- $52,334
- Acceptance
- 73%
Stony Brook University
B- ROI proxy
- 9.92
- Net price
- $18,784
- Earnings 10y
- $74,502
- Acceptance
- 49%
University at Albany
B- ROI proxy
- 9.90
- Net price
- $17,167
- Earnings 10y
- $67,979
- Acceptance
- 69.1%
Binghamton University
B- ROI proxy
- 9.32
- Net price
- $21,620
- Earnings 10y
- $80,596
- Acceptance
- 38.6%
SUNY College at Geneseo
B- ROI proxy
- 9.24
- Net price
- $18,211
- Earnings 10y
- $67,316
- Acceptance
- 66.5%
Cornell University
B- ROI proxy
- 9.07
- Net price
- $28,690
- Earnings 10y
- $104,043
- Acceptance
- 8.8%
State University of New York at Oswego
B- ROI proxy
- 8.86
- Net price
- $16,236
- Earnings 10y
- $57,566
- Acceptance
- 80.6%
SUNY at Fredonia
B- ROI proxy
- 8.53
- Net price
- $15,897
- Earnings 10y
- $54,247
- Acceptance
- 77.7%
Canisius University
B- ROI proxy
- 8.46
- Net price
- $17,940
- Earnings 10y
- $60,681
- Acceptance
- 72.4%
University at Buffalo
B- ROI proxy
- 8.43
- Net price
- $20,995
- Earnings 10y
- $70,814
- Acceptance
- 74.2%
St. Joseph's University-New York
B- ROI proxy
- 8.39
- Net price
- $19,035
- Earnings 10y
- $63,905
- Acceptance
- 72.1%
SUNY Brockport
B- ROI proxy
- 8.33
- Net price
- $16,353
- Earnings 10y
- $54,496
- Acceptance
- 70.7%
Utica University
B- ROI proxy
- 8.28
- Net price
- $19,108
- Earnings 10y
- $63,277
- Acceptance
- 92%
State University of New York at Plattsburgh
B- ROI proxy
- 8.22
- Net price
- $17,156
- Earnings 10y
- $56,403
- Acceptance
- 78.4%
Niagara University
B- ROI proxy
- 8.15
- Net price
- $17,248
- Earnings 10y
- $56,196
- Acceptance
- 87.4%
St. Francis College
B- ROI proxy
- 8.01
- Net price
- $18,129
- Earnings 10y
- $58,099
- Acceptance
- Open / not reported
Molloy University
B- ROI proxy
- 7.99
- Net price
- $24,347
- Earnings 10y
- $77,789
- Acceptance
- 81.7%
Manhattan University
B- ROI proxy
- 7.92
- Net price
- $27,256
- Earnings 10y
- $86,316
- Acceptance
- 78.9%
SUNY Oneonta
B- ROI proxy
- 7.88
- Net price
- $19,158
- Earnings 10y
- $60,386
- Acceptance
- 69.6%
State University of New York at New Paltz
B- ROI proxy
- 7.72
- Net price
- $18,809
- Earnings 10y
- $58,073
- Acceptance
- 61.6%
University of Mount Saint Vincent
B- ROI proxy
- 7.58
- Net price
- $21,696
- Earnings 10y
- $65,756
- Acceptance
- 85.1%
Colgate University
B- ROI proxy
- 7.39
- Net price
- $28,786
- Earnings 10y
- $85,139
- Acceptance
- 13.9%
How we picked this list
This list starts with New York schools reporting awards in Philosophy, excludes low-denominator, very small and incomplete records, then sorts by EduGradify's school-wide ROI proxy: ten-year median earnings weighed against average net price. The eligible set's average EduGradify ROI proxy is 9.68 (14 public, 11 private).
ROI lists require average net price of at least $4,600, enrollment of at least 500 and a reported graduation rate so unusually small denominators or incomplete records cannot dominate the public leaderboard.
Source transparency: every figure comes from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard public data set. See our full methodology for the ROI formula, value grade rules and missing-data handling.
FAQ
Who leads this ranking?
College of Staten Island CUNY in Staten Island, NY tops this ranking. EduGradify value grade is A+.
How does EduGradify pick this list?
We rank this set by roi proxy using the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard — see our methodology for the full formula. No paid placements, no surveys.
How many New York colleges are in this list?
58 New York colleges qualified for this ranking based on available federal data.
What does net price mean here?
Net price is what students actually pay after grants and scholarships — not the sticker price. It is reported by each college to the U.S. Department of Education.
Can I use this ranking as a final college decision?
Use it as a shortlist, not a final decision. The ranking compares school-wide federal data; you should still confirm program fit, aid letters, graduation path, transfer policies and current costs with each college.