Ranking
Best History Colleges in Iowa 2026
Hawkeye Community College leads this ROI ranking with an A value grade and a 11.10 school-wide ROI proxy. EduGradify ranks 25 eligible colleges here by earnings against net price.
26 eligible Iowa colleges reporting awards in History, ranked by EduGradify's school-wide value signal.
- Schools ranked
- 25
- Cheapest net price
- $9,649
- Top earnings 10y
- $71,901
- Public / Private
- 6 / 19
Hawkeye Community College
A- ROI proxy
- 11.10
- Net price
- $9,649
- Earnings 10y
- $42,849
- Acceptance
- Open / not reported
Indian Hills Community College
B- ROI proxy
- 9.47
- Net price
- $10,693
- Earnings 10y
- $40,507
- Acceptance
- Open / not reported
Northeast Iowa Community College
B- ROI proxy
- 9.16
- Net price
- $11,272
- Earnings 10y
- $41,306
- Acceptance
- Open / not reported
Grinnell College
B- ROI proxy
- 8.90
- Net price
- $17,648
- Earnings 10y
- $62,830
- Acceptance
- 14.5%
University of Northern Iowa
B- ROI proxy
- 8.68
- Net price
- $15,901
- Earnings 10y
- $55,177
- Acceptance
- 92.7%
Iowa State University
B- ROI proxy
- 8.52
- Net price
- $18,589
- Earnings 10y
- $63,386
- Acceptance
- 88.7%
Coe College
B- ROI proxy
- 7.62
- Net price
- $18,745
- Earnings 10y
- $57,125
- Acceptance
- 64%
University of Iowa
C- ROI proxy
- 7.19
- Net price
- $22,531
- Earnings 10y
- $64,762
- Acceptance
- 83.6%
Loras College
C- ROI proxy
- 7.03
- Net price
- $20,716
- Earnings 10y
- $58,289
- Acceptance
- 99.9%
Simpson College
C- ROI proxy
- 6.76
- Net price
- $21,936
- Earnings 10y
- $59,274
- Acceptance
- 86.2%
Buena Vista University
C- ROI proxy
- 6.52
- Net price
- $18,846
- Earnings 10y
- $49,156
- Acceptance
- 77.6%
Waldorf University
C- ROI proxy
- 6.50
- Net price
- $19,693
- Earnings 10y
- $51,165
- Acceptance
- 77%
Luther College
C- ROI proxy
- 6.48
- Net price
- $23,097
- Earnings 10y
- $59,850
- Acceptance
- 71.5%
Graceland University-Lamoni
C- ROI proxy
- 6.40
- Net price
- $18,504
- Earnings 10y
- $47,361
- Acceptance
- 80.8%
Drake University
C- ROI proxy
- 6.17
- Net price
- $29,127
- Earnings 10y
- $71,901
- Acceptance
- 63.9%
Grand View University
C- ROI proxy
- 6.07
- Net price
- $21,774
- Earnings 10y
- $52,824
- Acceptance
- 99.1%
Saint Ambrose University
C- ROI proxy
- 6.03
- Net price
- $24,691
- Earnings 10y
- $59,531
- Acceptance
- 77.3%
Central College
C- ROI proxy
- 5.81
- Net price
- $23,377
- Earnings 10y
- $54,317
- Acceptance
- 86.2%
Briar Cliff University
C- ROI proxy
- 5.70
- Net price
- $23,907
- Earnings 10y
- $54,475
- Acceptance
- Open / not reported
Clarke University
C- ROI proxy
- 5.66
- Net price
- $24,479
- Earnings 10y
- $55,396
- Acceptance
- 71.8%
Cornell College
C- ROI proxy
- 5.65
- Net price
- $23,634
- Earnings 10y
- $53,460
- Acceptance
- 79.9%
William Penn University
D- ROI proxy
- 5.41
- Net price
- $22,601
- Earnings 10y
- $48,936
- Acceptance
- 51.9%
Dordt University
D- ROI proxy
- 5.09
- Net price
- $25,807
- Earnings 10y
- $52,559
- Acceptance
- 68.5%
Northwestern College
D- ROI proxy
- 4.81
- Net price
- $25,907
- Earnings 10y
- $49,802
- Acceptance
- 80.4%
Morningside University
D- ROI proxy
- 4.43
- Net price
- $31,320
- Earnings 10y
- $55,494
- Acceptance
- 71%
How we picked this list
This list starts with Iowa schools reporting awards in History, excludes low-denominator, very small and incomplete records, then sorts by EduGradify's school-wide ROI proxy: ten-year median earnings weighed against average net price. The eligible set's average EduGradify ROI proxy is 6.85 (6 public, 19 private).
ROI lists require average net price of at least $4,600, enrollment of at least 500 and a reported graduation rate so unusually small denominators or incomplete records cannot dominate the public leaderboard.
Source transparency: every figure comes from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard public data set. See our full methodology for the ROI formula, value grade rules and missing-data handling.
FAQ
Who leads this ranking?
Hawkeye Community College in Waterloo, IA tops this ranking. EduGradify value grade is A.
How does EduGradify pick this list?
We rank this set by roi proxy using the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard — see our methodology for the full formula. No paid placements, no surveys.
How many Iowa colleges are in this list?
26 Iowa colleges qualified for this ranking based on available federal data.
What does net price mean here?
Net price is what students actually pay after grants and scholarships — not the sticker price. It is reported by each college to the U.S. Department of Education.
Can I use this ranking as a final college decision?
Use it as a shortlist, not a final decision. The ranking compares school-wide federal data; you should still confirm program fit, aid letters, graduation path, transfer policies and current costs with each college.