Ranking
Best Engineering, General Colleges in Texas 2026
Wharton County Junior College leads this ROI ranking with an A+ value grade and a 24.09 school-wide ROI proxy. EduGradify ranks 25 eligible colleges here by earnings against net price.
35 eligible Texas colleges reporting awards in Engineering, General, ranked by EduGradify's school-wide value signal.
- Schools ranked
- 25
- Cheapest net price
- $4,600
- Top earnings 10y
- $75,121
- Public / Private
- 25 / 0
Wharton County Junior College
A+- ROI proxy
- 24.09
- Net price
- $4,666
- Earnings 10y
- $44,960
- Acceptance
- Open / not reported
Amarillo College
A+- ROI proxy
- 22.45
- Net price
- $4,600
- Earnings 10y
- $41,302
- Acceptance
- Open / not reported
McLennan Community College
A+- ROI proxy
- 19.38
- Net price
- $5,051
- Earnings 10y
- $39,163
- Acceptance
- Open / not reported
Austin Community College District
A+- ROI proxy
- 16.89
- Net price
- $6,390
- Earnings 10y
- $43,177
- Acceptance
- Open / not reported
Odessa College
A+- ROI proxy
- 16.50
- Net price
- $6,368
- Earnings 10y
- $42,026
- Acceptance
- Open / not reported
Howard College
A- ROI proxy
- 15.61
- Net price
- $6,147
- Earnings 10y
- $38,382
- Acceptance
- Open / not reported
South Plains College
A- ROI proxy
- 15.20
- Net price
- $6,791
- Earnings 10y
- $41,276
- Acceptance
- Open / not reported
Collin County Community College District
A- ROI proxy
- 13.57
- Net price
- $8,969
- Earnings 10y
- $48,701
- Acceptance
- Open / not reported
The University of Texas at El Paso
A- ROI proxy
- 13.54
- Net price
- $9,403
- Earnings 10y
- $50,923
- Acceptance
- 99.9%
Lamar University
A- ROI proxy
- 13.25
- Net price
- $9,366
- Earnings 10y
- $49,652
- Acceptance
- 86.4%
Paris Junior College
A- ROI proxy
- 11.87
- Net price
- $7,690
- Earnings 10y
- $36,515
- Acceptance
- Open / not reported
The University of Texas at Arlington
A- ROI proxy
- 11.33
- Net price
- $13,951
- Earnings 10y
- $63,199
- Acceptance
- 79.9%
University of Houston
A- ROI proxy
- 10.92
- Net price
- $14,276
- Earnings 10y
- $62,377
- Acceptance
- 73.9%
Blinn College District
B- ROI proxy
- 10.68
- Net price
- $10,844
- Earnings 10y
- $46,318
- Acceptance
- Open / not reported
Texas A&M University-Kingsville
B- ROI proxy
- 10.64
- Net price
- $12,090
- Earnings 10y
- $51,450
- Acceptance
- 90.9%
Central Texas College
B- ROI proxy
- 9.98
- Net price
- $10,265
- Earnings 10y
- $40,995
- Acceptance
- Open / not reported
Texarkana College
B- ROI proxy
- 9.83
- Net price
- $8,812
- Earnings 10y
- $34,647
- Acceptance
- Open / not reported
The University of Texas at Austin
B- ROI proxy
- 9.46
- Net price
- $19,857
- Earnings 10y
- $75,121
- Acceptance
- 26.6%
Lone Star College System
B- ROI proxy
- 9.44
- Net price
- $11,252
- Earnings 10y
- $42,466
- Acceptance
- Open / not reported
Tyler Junior College
B- ROI proxy
- 9.34
- Net price
- $10,206
- Earnings 10y
- $38,140
- Acceptance
- Open / not reported
University of North Texas
B- ROI proxy
- 9.11
- Net price
- $15,649
- Earnings 10y
- $57,010
- Acceptance
- 72.2%
San Jacinto Community College
B- ROI proxy
- 8.87
- Net price
- $12,143
- Earnings 10y
- $43,062
- Acceptance
- Open / not reported
Texas State University
B- ROI proxy
- 8.47
- Net price
- $16,805
- Earnings 10y
- $56,906
- Acceptance
- 89.3%
Texas A&M University-College Station
B- ROI proxy
- 8.46
- Net price
- $21,315
- Earnings 10y
- $72,097
- Acceptance
- 57.4%
Prairie View A & M University
B- ROI proxy
- 8.37
- Net price
- $13,570
- Earnings 10y
- $45,411
- Acceptance
- 79.3%
How we picked this list
This list starts with Texas schools reporting awards in Engineering, General, excludes low-denominator, very small and incomplete records, then sorts by EduGradify's school-wide ROI proxy: ten-year median earnings weighed against average net price. The eligible set's average EduGradify ROI proxy is 12.69 (25 public, 0 private).
ROI lists require average net price of at least $4,600, enrollment of at least 500 and a reported graduation rate so unusually small denominators or incomplete records cannot dominate the public leaderboard.
Source transparency: every figure comes from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard public data set. See our full methodology for the ROI formula, value grade rules and missing-data handling.
FAQ
Who leads this ranking?
Wharton County Junior College in Wharton, TX tops this ranking. EduGradify value grade is A+.
How does EduGradify pick this list?
We rank this set by roi proxy using the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard — see our methodology for the full formula. No paid placements, no surveys.
How many Texas colleges are in this list?
35 Texas colleges qualified for this ranking based on available federal data.
What does net price mean here?
Net price is what students actually pay after grants and scholarships — not the sticker price. It is reported by each college to the U.S. Department of Education.
Can I use this ranking as a final college decision?
Use it as a shortlist, not a final decision. The ranking compares school-wide federal data; you should still confirm program fit, aid letters, graduation path, transfer policies and current costs with each college.