Ranking
Best Education, General Colleges in Maryland 2026
Hagerstown Community College leads this ROI ranking with an A value grade and a 15.22 school-wide ROI proxy. EduGradify ranks 16 eligible colleges here by earnings against net price.
16 eligible Maryland colleges reporting awards in Education, General, ranked by EduGradify's school-wide value signal.
- Schools ranked
- 16
- Cheapest net price
- $6,835
- Top earnings 10y
- $87,555
- Public / Private
- 12 / 4
Hagerstown Community College
A- ROI proxy
- 15.22
- Net price
- $6,835
- Earnings 10y
- $41,615
- Acceptance
- Open / not reported
Harford Community College
A- ROI proxy
- 12.08
- Net price
- $9,234
- Earnings 10y
- $44,608
- Acceptance
- Open / not reported
Johns Hopkins University
A- ROI proxy
- 11.64
- Net price
- $18,809
- Earnings 10y
- $87,555
- Acceptance
- 6.4%
Community College of Baltimore County
A- ROI proxy
- 11.11
- Net price
- $9,844
- Earnings 10y
- $43,729
- Acceptance
- Open / not reported
Howard Community College
A- ROI proxy
- 11.01
- Net price
- $11,133
- Earnings 10y
- $49,020
- Acceptance
- Open / not reported
Allegany College of Maryland
A- ROI proxy
- 10.91
- Net price
- $8,819
- Earnings 10y
- $38,476
- Acceptance
- Open / not reported
University of Maryland-Baltimore County
B- ROI proxy
- 10.62
- Net price
- $16,467
- Earnings 10y
- $69,960
- Acceptance
- 72.4%
Wor-Wic Community College
B- ROI proxy
- 9.82
- Net price
- $9,360
- Earnings 10y
- $36,748
- Acceptance
- Open / not reported
Towson University
B- ROI proxy
- 9.24
- Net price
- $17,413
- Earnings 10y
- $64,390
- Acceptance
- 82%
Salisbury University
B- ROI proxy
- 8.67
- Net price
- $17,743
- Earnings 10y
- $61,515
- Acceptance
- 87.5%
Notre Dame of Maryland University
B- ROI proxy
- 8.52
- Net price
- $19,169
- Earnings 10y
- $65,344
- Acceptance
- 82.2%
Frostburg State University
B- ROI proxy
- 8.30
- Net price
- $16,715
- Earnings 10y
- $55,493
- Acceptance
- 89.2%
St. Mary's College of Maryland
B- ROI proxy
- 8.15
- Net price
- $18,441
- Earnings 10y
- $60,110
- Acceptance
- 68.6%
Goucher College
C- ROI proxy
- 5.90
- Net price
- $22,470
- Earnings 10y
- $53,023
- Acceptance
- 77.7%
Stevenson University
C- ROI proxy
- 5.86
- Net price
- $26,505
- Earnings 10y
- $62,079
- Acceptance
- 78.9%
Baltimore City Community College
C- ROI proxy
- 5.63
- Net price
- $15,987
- Earnings 10y
- $36,025
- Acceptance
- Open / not reported
How we picked this list
This list starts with Maryland schools reporting awards in Education, General, excludes low-denominator, very small and incomplete records, then sorts by EduGradify's school-wide ROI proxy: ten-year median earnings weighed against average net price. The eligible set's average EduGradify ROI proxy is 9.54 (12 public, 4 private).
ROI lists require average net price of at least $4,600, enrollment of at least 500 and a reported graduation rate so unusually small denominators or incomplete records cannot dominate the public leaderboard.
Source transparency: every figure comes from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard public data set. See our full methodology for the ROI formula, value grade rules and missing-data handling.
FAQ
Who leads this ranking?
Hagerstown Community College in Hagerstown, MD tops this ranking. EduGradify value grade is A.
How does EduGradify pick this list?
We rank this set by roi proxy using the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard — see our methodology for the full formula. No paid placements, no surveys.
How many Maryland colleges are in this list?
16 Maryland colleges qualified for this ranking based on available federal data.
What does net price mean here?
Net price is what students actually pay after grants and scholarships — not the sticker price. It is reported by each college to the U.S. Department of Education.
Can I use this ranking as a final college decision?
Use it as a shortlist, not a final decision. The ranking compares school-wide federal data; you should still confirm program fit, aid letters, graduation path, transfer policies and current costs with each college.