Jackson, Mississippi · Public
Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences at Jackson State University
This is a listed field for a Mississippi school, not a confirmed positive share of awards or completions. Use Jackson State University's school-wide price, admissions, and earnings as context, then verify the current catalog and department outcomes directly.
Program listing
Listed in federal data; a positive share of awards or completions is not reported.
This major
- Award concentration
- Listed; award share not reported
- Schools reporting awards
- 461
Admissions
- Acceptance rate (school)
- 93.2%
- Graduation rate
- 50.9%
Cost
- Avg net price (school)
- $23,836/yr
- 4-year cost (est.)
- $95,344
- Median debt
- $30,470
Outcomes
- Median earnings 10y
- $39,060/yr
- ROI grade (school)
- D
College Scorecard reports school-wide earnings and price, not per-major outcomes for individual colleges. A listed field with no positive share of awards should be treated as a directory clue, not proof of current enrollment, program size, or department strength.
Evidence used here: a federal field listing, $23,836 school-wide average net price, $39,060 school-wide ten-year earnings, and 461 peer schools reporting a positive share of awards in the field. Evidence not included: positive award concentration at this school, current program enrollment, department-level salary, placement, credential eligibility, certification, or licensing-exam outcomes. This page is available for users, but it is kept out of Google indexing because federal data does not report a positive share of awards for this school and field.
School-level context
Use these school-wide metrics before checking the department directly in Mississippi.
Jackson State University has an average net price of $23,836, school-wide ten-year median earnings of $39,060, and a D value grade in EduGradify's school-level model. Because a positive share of awards is not reported for this field, the answer is school-level context only; this page does not claim a department rank, current enrollment, credential result, or professional outcome.
See the national program hub →Schools reporting awards
These peer schools report a positive share of awards in the same field; 461 schools report a positive share of awards in this field.
Princeton University Princeton, NJ · 0.6% of reported awards · $6,128 net A+ University of Florida-Online Gainesville, FL · 2.6% of reported awards · $4,815 net A+ University of Florida Gainesville, FL · 0.2% of reported awards · $6,541 net A+ California State University-Bakersfield Bakersfield, CA · 0.6% of reported awards · $5,652 net A+ California State University-Stanislaus Turlock, CA · 0.3% of reported awards · $6,067 net A+ California State University-Fullerton Fullerton, CA · 0.4% of reported awards · $6,555 net A+ College of Staten Island CUNY Staten Island, NY · 0.2% of reported awards · $5,579 net A+ Las Positas College Livermore, CA · 0.5% of reported awards · $5,377 net A+ Questions about this listing
Why is there no positive award share?
Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences appears in the federal field list for Jackson State University, but its share of reported awards or completions is not positive in the current data. This does not estimate current enrollment; verify the active credential in the official catalog.
Can I still study this field here?
Possibly. Treat this as a prompt to verify Jackson State University's official catalog, department pages, and advisor guidance before applying or transferring.
Are the cost and earnings major-specific?
No. The $23,836 net price and $39,060 earnings figure are school-wide metrics, so they are useful for affordability context but not a department outcome guarantee.
What should I check next?
Confirm whether the catalog offers the exact credential you want, whether courses are active this year, whether transfer paths exist, and whether the department publishes completion, placement, licensure, or internship outcomes.