EduGradify
Menu
Find a college

Head-to-head · 2026

South Dakota School of Mines and Technology vs Western Dakota Technical College

Compare average net price ($20,183 at South Dakota School of Mines and Technology; $12,670 at Western Dakota Technical College), ROI score (8.95 vs 7.94), school-wide ten-year median earnings ($72,257 vs $40,240), and admissions context (79.9% at South Dakota School of Mines and Technology; Open / not reported at Western Dakota Technical College) using federal College Scorecard data. The table keeps affordability, outcomes, access and program fit separate rather than declaring one universal winner.

Face to face

Metric-by-metric comparison

13 metrics, side by side. Color marks a useful directional signal; admissions, SAT, tuition eligibility, ownership and enrollment stay neutral.

Metric South Dakota School of Mines and Technology Western Dakota Technical College
ROI score (school-wide) 8.95 ✓ 7.94
Avg net price $20,183 $12,670 ✓
4-year avg net price $80,732 $50,680 ✓
In-state tuition $10,500 $8,294
Out-of-state tuition $14,900 $8,294
School-wide earnings (10y) $72,257 ✓ $40,240
Acceptance rate 79.9% Open / not reported
Graduation rate 53% 54.2% ✓
Retention rate 84.1% ✓ 67.3%
Median debt $27,000 $15,000 ✓
Enrollment 2,071 753
Ownership Public Public
Avg SAT 1245 —

Cost by family income

Reported net price by income band

Federal averages for students receiving Title IV aid. These are context, not a substitute for either school's financial-aid offer.

Income band South Dakota School of Mines and Technology Western Dakota Technical College
Family income $0–30k $15,348 $10,071 ✓
Family income $30–48k $17,909 $10,543 ✓
Family income $48–75k $18,366 $14,003 ✓
Family income $75–110k $21,176 $18,657 ✓
Family income $110k+ $21,993 $18,845 ✓

Program fit

Shared fields with reported awards

Award share is the share of reported credentials in a field, not the share of currently enrolled students.

No shared field has positive award-share data at both schools in the current federal records. Check each school's official catalog before ruling out a program.

Decision readout

What the differences mean

Western Dakota Technical College reports the lower average net price by $7,513 per year. Holding today's averages constant, that is a $30,052 difference over four years ($50,680 vs $80,732).

South Dakota School of Mines and Technology reports $32,017 higher school-wide median earnings ten years after entry ($72,257 vs $40,240). This is not earnings for a specific major.

First-year retention is 84.1% at South Dakota School of Mines and Technology and 67.3% at Western Dakota Technical College. Median federal debt among completers is $27,000 vs $15,000, respectively.

The current federal records do not show a shared field with positive award-share data for these schools. That does not prove a program is unavailable; verify offerings with each school.

Keep comparing

Promoted matchups involving the same colleges or other leading schools in their states.

Frequently asked

South Dakota School of Mines and Technology vs Western Dakota Technical College, answered

3 of the most common questions, with real numbers from federal data.

Which school costs less after aid?

Western Dakota Technical College is cheaper — average net price $12,670 per year vs $20,183 at South Dakota School of Mines and Technology. The annual difference of $7,513 adds up to about $30,052 over four years.

Which school reports higher earnings?

South Dakota School of Mines and Technology reports higher school-wide median earnings ten years after entry: $72,257 vs $40,240 at Western Dakota Technical College. The gap in the federal data is $32,017. This is not major-specific earnings.

Is there an overall winner?

No single metric makes either school the universal winner. Compare your actual aid offers, residency tuition, intended major, graduation and retention rates, debt, location and campus fit. EduGradify keeps these trade-offs separate instead of combining admissions selectivity and test scores into a final verdict.